These Famous Writers Don’t Want to See You Give Up

These Famous Writers Don't Want to See You Give Up

I’ve noticed a lot of great posts surface online recently about dealing with burnout, such as “5 Ways to Recover After a Writer’s Burnout” by Nichole Severn at She’s Novel. Everyone can start to feel overworked and simply overwhelmed after a while. And if you’re anything like me, your past few weeks have become nonstop working (and writing) day in and day out without pausing to take a moment for inspiration. But everyone needs motivation – even the hardest work ethic needs a push every now and then.

This Monday, I decided it would be best to create a “Monday Motivation” post of sorts and guide you to some of the best quotes I’ve found from successful writers about resilience. That’s right, even the most famous writers admit they sometimes struggle with work. Turn back to this post whenever you need a bit of motivation to get back into your routine, or read through these amazing quotes now to feel energized about starting your week’s projects.

“What I’m certain I don’t want is to find myself someday in a new century, an old bitter woman looking back, wishing that right now I’d had more nerve.” – Charles Frazier, Cold Mountain

“Love what you do and do what you love. Don’t listen to anyone else who tells you not to do it. You do what you want, what you love. Imagination should be the center of your life.” – Ray Bradbury

“There’s no such thing as ruining your life. Life’s a pretty resilient thing, it turns out.” – Sophie Kinsella, The Undomestic Goddess

“Making people believe the unbelievable is no trick; it’s work. … Belief and reader absorption come in the details: An overturned tricycle in the gutter of an abandoned neighborhood can stand for everything.” – Stephen King

“Each day is like an enormous rock that I’m trying to push up this hill. I get it up a fair distance, it rolls back a little bit, and I keep pushing it, hoping I’ll get it to the top of the hill and that it will go on its own momentum. I’ve never given up. I’ve always kept going. I don’t feel that I could afford to give up.” – Joyce Carol Oates

“When I sit down to write a book, I do not say to myself, ‘I am going to produce a work of art.’ I write it because there is some lie that I want to expose, some fact to which I want to draw attention, and my initial concern is to get a hearing.” – George Orwell

“It seems to me we can never give up longing and wishing while we are thoroughly alive. There are certain things we feel to be beautiful and good, and we must hunger after them.” – George Sand

Know any other favorite motivational quotes? Have a favorite quote from the selection above? Feel free to let me know in the comments below!

One thought on “These Famous Writers Don’t Want to See You Give Up

Leave a Reply

